My 25 (2014): #24 – Hold My Home by Cold War Kids

Cold War Kids Hold My Home Vinyl

Pure, uncut rock soul. Like raw cocaine looking back to you on a mirror. Putting the tube to my nose & sniffing in Cold War Kids’ Hold My Hand made my blood rush. Makes really. On my 15th stream as I write this. “This is how all music should make a listener feel,” I told myself the second time. Knew it then that this record would keep its place on my shelf. For each track is attacked passionately.  Eventually, you are overtaken by Nathan & the bands collective soul. Nothing sad or rotten here. Even sad lyrics are injected with rage & vengeful drums that you are dancing away the pain.

This is one of those records that makes the skip button vanish the second you start this rollercoaster ride. You’re strapped in. Still haven’t had a chance to let my famous Prius test it’s musical might on the road. Curious if it would’ve ranked higher if I brought it along for the summer rides. You can feel the asphalt dripping with oil on “Drive Desperately”. That’s quite the plus.

Enjoy Hold My Home as each second surprises even the most jaded of snobs.

spotify:album:01x41UlgUnQ3QX5OLcIKFo

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

